top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoshua the Ubernerd

Trigun Stampede First Impression Review



 

This impressions review covers the first two episodes of the English dub version of Tirgun Stampede, which as of the writing of this post is the only two episodes available on Crunchyroll. If you watch the sub please feel free to leave your own review.

 

I regard the original Trigun as one of my favorite anime series of all time. When I heard of the reboot I had to give it a look. I saw a few sneak previews before seeing the episodes and it made me have fears going into the series. Mostly about it being CG animation and the new look of the characters. After seeing the first two episodes, however, most of those fears were put to rest. The CG animation in Trigun Stampede wasn't bad, not perfect, but not bad. The first episode starts with a literal bang and shows the skills that the Japanese studio Orange has. Through both episodes, I saw very smooth and very fluid animation, especially with it comes to action scenes. I also was very impressed by the facial expressions and how exaggerated they got them. Another thing I liked about the English dub is that they got the original voice actor Johnny Yong Bosch to reprise his role as the main character Vash the Stampede. I like to hear Johnny Young Bosch in the many different anime roles he's played over the years but I feel Vash is his most iconic. This also helps Tirgun Stampede because Johnny knows the character and it's almost like he's picking up right where he left off. I am still a little iffy about the look of the characters, especially Vash. His original design was very iconic and this new look is a bit weird. I feel however this is something that I will just have to get used to over time. Overall the first two episodes are very impressive and I recommend it but we will have to see what the rest of the series is like after the first season is complete. I will write another review once that happens.




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page