top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoshua the Ubernerd

The Ultimate Cartoon Experience: A Review of MeTV Toons


MeTV Toons is the new home for classic cartoons

A few months ago, I wrote an article talking about MeTV Toons the new 24/7 classic cartoon channel that is now on old-school television, not another streaming service. The article focused on how this new channel can learn from Cartoon Network's mistakes. If you want more details about MeTV Toons, check out that article. Now that MeTV Toons is on the air, I wanted to take some time to review the channel as a whole. Spoiler alert: I enjoyed the channel. You can sense the amount of love and care that went into creating it from the very minute you tune it. This makes MeTV Toons the coolest thing to happen to cartoons on network TV since the creation of Saturday morning cartoons.


The mix of classic cartoons in their schedule with the addition of interstitials in between the cartoons that go over the history of cartoons makes this channel more of an educational experience that you can have fun with. One of my favorite interstitials is called Cartoon College, where they discuss specific parts of animation history. This includes topics such as specific creators like Tex Avery or the history of particular characters like Bugs Bunny. Most of the time, I love watching the interstitials more than I like watching some of the shows. That doesn't mean that they are slacking on the amount of quality shows, mind you. I also love that they mixed shows and shorts from the latter half of the 20th century, from classic Looney Tunes to more modern shows like Freakazoid and The Real Ghostbusters.



Besides the suggestions I made in my previous article, I think the only thing I can think of to improve MeTV Toons is just more variety of classic cartoons and more interstitials. My suggestions are very biased for more cartoons, but I would love to see more 90s cartoons on the channel, just because I grew up watching them. I suggest shows like the Steven Spielberg cartoons besides Freakazoid, such as Tiny Toon Adventures, Animaniacs, and Pinky and the Brain. Also, some more obscure 90s cartoons like Eek! The Cat, Taz-mania, Earthworm Jim, and Tom and Jerry Kids, just to name a few. Maybe even a few more action cartoons like any of Bruce Timm's shows like Batman, Superman, or Justice League the animated series. 


For more interstitials, I would suggest delving into more modern creators along with the classic ones. This can include creators like the aforementioned Bruce Timm, Glen Murakami, Dwayne McDuffie, and Floyd Norman to name a few. As stated before, the interstitials are great, but providing more variety in the history of animation would be wonderful.



If you are a fan of animation, please make sure to support MeTV Toons by watching the channel and sharing it with the next generation. This will not only be educational but also fun to watch all of these amazing cartoons. Have you seen MeTV Toons? What shows are your favorites on the channel? Share them in the comments below.


are you watching MeTV Toons?

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page