top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoshua the Ubernerd

Interview with Today In Star Wars History author Richard Woloski



Star Wars is and always will be my favorite franchise. One thing I love most about being a Star Wars fan is when I find a positive community to hang around. One such community I am a part of was introduced to me through the podcast Skywalking Through Neverland. Where hosts Richard Woloski and his wife Sarah celebrate the many decades of Star Wars, Disney, and Marvel fandoms. Recently Richard has authored two books titled Today in Star Wars History - Part 1 (January - June) and Part 2 (July - December). With these combined books anyone can spend the year learning interesting history about the creation of the Star Wars films, shows, and much more. I asked questions to Richard about his books and his love of Star Wars and here is what he had to say.


  • How long have you been a Star Wars fan?

    • Late Summer of 1977. I was late to the party since I was still obsessing over King Kong (1976). It then got to the point where I wanted to be included in the conversation that everyone was having. I started collecting the posters, shirts, and magazines before I even saw the film because I loved the look of the characters and because Chewbacca looked like King Kong to me.


  • What is your favorite Star Wars movie?

    • It’s a toss-up between Episodes 1, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, Rogue One, Solo, and Star Wars: The Clone Wars. Still can’t decide. Get back to me on that one.


  • What is your favorite part of being a fan?

    • Meeting other fans and swapping stories. Being able to produce our podcast, Skywalking Through Neverland, and speaking with the cast and crew that I’ve looked up to since I was 8 years old.


  • Today in Star Wars History has very interesting facts about Star Wars that span every day of the year. How long have you been compiling all of this information?

    • I’ve been compiling this information since I started collecting books and magazines in 1977. For some reason, I always made notes of dates until I had pages and pages and thought I’d like to share this information with others who love fun facts, and trivia, and want to learn even more about Star Wars. Even now, I am updating the two books seeing how so much happens in the world of Star Wars every day. These updates will be included in the kindle version coming very soon.

  • What is your favorite piece of random trivia in the book?

    • I’ll share a piece of random trivia that is NOT in the book to my dismay. Every May the 4th, websites and fans like to celebrate Star Wars pun day. This all started when a site in 2011 fabricated a story saying the pun started back in 1979 when the London Evening News congratulated Margaret Thatcher on becoming Prime Minister on May 4th with the headline, “May the 4th be with you, Maggie.” Through endless research, I learned that the headline was indeed fabricated but it’s taken on a life of its own. Because that “fun fact” is not correct, I was not able to add it to the book. If it can’t be verified, it gets left on the cutting room floor.


  • What day of the year has the most trivia in the book?

    • I would say May 25th. This day saw the release of Star Wars (1977), Return of the Jedi (1983), and Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018), and it is also Frank Oz’s birthday (1944). There are several other entries (one of which is a Skywalking exclusive). You’ll have to get the book to find out what that is.


  • What is the oldest piece of trivia in the book?

    • Marjorie Eaton’s birthday was born February 5, 1901. She was the actress who is seen as Emperor Palpatine in The Empire Strikes Back (pre-Special Edition). However, her eyes were replaced by a chimpanzee, and her voice was dubbed by Clive Revill.


  • What is the most obscure piece of trivia in the book?

    • I would say the first time the Star Wars subtitle, Episode IV: A New Hope, is seen. The common belief is that the first time that title is used was in the 1981 re-release of Star Wars. However, it was first seen in 1979’s ‘The Art of Star Wars’ book by Carol Titelman.


  • What was the hardest piece of trivia in the book to find information?

    • There are release dates that still elude me. One of which is the release date of Timothy Zahn’s Heir to the Empire novel. This release was back at a time (1991) when publishers would send out their books and whenever stores would receive their shipment, they would just put it out. I even contacted Mr. Zahn who replied, “I have no idea.” So instead of listing the release date, I would list the day it hit the #1 position on the New York Times Best Sellers List. I would do the same for the Star Wars Christmas album, Christmas in the Stars. I listed the date it entered the Billboard charts.


  • If readers are interested in the book, where can they purchase it?

    • I’m so glad you asked, they can get autographed copies at skywalkingthroughneverland.com/book. Hardcover is $50, whereas paperback is $25 (and that includes shipping).


  • If readers want to contact or follow you on social media where can they follow you?

    • I’m so glad you asked that too. They can reach us on Instagram and Twitter at Skywalkingpod. On YouTube, just look for Skywalking Through Neverland. And for the podcast which just hit its 9th year and 400th episode, they can find us on any podcatchers or on our skywalkingthroughneverland.com website.


Thank you Richard for taking the time to answer my questions and if you haven’t got a copy of Today in Star Wars History make sure you get yourself a copy!




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page