top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoshua the Ubernerd

2022 in Review - Ubernerd's Animated Favorites




Spy x Family

Spy x Family is about a spy tasked with creating a fake family in order to be close to a corrupt politician. Along the way, the spy adopts a small girl who unbeknownst to everyone has the ability to read minds, and the woman that becomes his fake wife is also in secret a top-grade assassin. The way that these three characters work off each other and how they inexplicably form this wholesome family make this show both fun and interesting to watch. From mundane adventures to world-saving ones, their relationship really drives the show and makes you care for them a lot. What I also like about this show is how seamless it can go from being serious to being silly without breaking the story. Add to that great animation to go with it and Spy x Family is an anime that no one should miss.



Star Wars Tales of the Jedi

The only Star Wars animated project in 2022, Tales of the Jedi is only six shorts, 3 that follow random points in Ahsoka Tano's life and 3 that follow Count Dooku. While I loved all the shorts I seemed to favorite Dooku ones as they fleshed out his character even more and made me connect with him. The Ahsoka shorts were also good, however, they didn't reveal anything about Ahsoka that I didn't already know about her character. Some of my favorite parts of her shorts include the first episode following her birth and the scene with her at Padme's funeral which was very emotional. My only gripe with the series is that it is too short and over too quickly, I would love to have more time and learn more about these two characters. I only hope that this is not a one-and-done series and that Lucasfilm decides to continue with it giving more Jedi characters the ability to be fleshed out.




The Cuphead Show

Last year I did a review on The Arcade Archives of seasons 1 and 2 of The Cuphead Show. Season 3 has come out on Netflix since then and my thoughts haven't changed much. I still enjoyed the show and I still love the very unique retro style of the animation. Whether you have played the game or not this is a very fun and enjoyable series that I highly suggest you watch.




Sonic Prime

Sonic Prime follows our favorite blue blur as he travels through the multiverse or shattered verse as they call it. Yes, Sonic Prime is another series that follows the trend of telling stories that involve a multiverse. Yet Sonic Prime has one major thing going for it, just like with Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, I feel that the writers of Sonic Prime are huge fans of the Sonic the Hedgehog franchise. Throughout the show, you can see many easter eggs that make reference to the games, comics, and other obscure media. Beyond that, the story can be very slow at first but near the end of the first season, it does pick up and pay off things that are set up at the beginning. My only critique of the show is that it doesn't pay off enough, in the end, there are still a lot of questions that need to be answered that would make the show even more interesting. So far Sonic Prime is a great series that I would put next to Sonic the Hedgehog (aka SatAM) as my favorite animated series featuring our favorite blue hedgehog.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page